Skip to main content

The Castilla y León region

This area in the north of Spain has been object of interest as test site in recent years thanks to a collaboration with Instituto Tecnológico Agrario de Castilla y León.

Castile and León (Castilla y León in spanish) is a landlocked autonomous community, located in the north-western quadrant of the Iberian Peninsula. Its territory borders on the north with the uniprovincial communities of Asturias and Cantabria, as well as with the Basque Country (Biscay and Álava); to the east with the uniprovincial community of La Rioja and with Aragon (province of Zaragoza), to the south with the Community of Madrid, Castile-La Mancha (provinces of Toledo and Guadalajara) and Extremadura (province of Cáceres) and to the west with Galicia (provinces of Lugo and Ourense) and Portugal (Bragança District and Guarda District).

The morphology of Castile and León consists, for the most part, of the northern half of the Meseta Central (Meseta Norte) and a belt of mountainous reliefs. The Meseta Central is a high plateau with an average altitude close to 800 metres (2,600 ft) above sea-level; it is covered by deposited clay materials that have given rise to a dry and arid landscape.

The main hydrographic network of Castile and León is constituted by the Douro river and its tributaries.